CSW Student Recognition Night

2022 CSW Award Night. A live event! May 12, 5-7 PM in the Jorgensen Center for the Performing Arts.

2022 CSW Award Night Speaker Sarah Albee; click image for more information

Sarah Albee is the New York Times bestselling author of more than 150 books for kids, ranging from preschool through middle grade. Recent nonfiction titles have been Junior Library Guild, Bank Street College of Education Best Books, and Notable Social Studies Trade Books selections, as well as winners of Eureka! Nonfiction Children’s Book Awards. She especially loves writing about topics where history and science connect.

Prior to becoming a full-time writer, Sarah worked at Children’s Television Workshop (producers of Sesame Street) for nine years. She played basketball in college, and then a year of semi-professional women’s basketball in Cairo, Egypt.

She lives in Connecticut with her husband, who is a high school history teacher and administrator. They have three grown kids, and a dog named Rosie.

Sarah loves to visit schools and can’t wait to travel again!

Visit Sarah Albee's page here: https://sarahalbeebooks.com/

Connecticut Student Writers magazine

Woman's face and birds.

Guidelines for Recognition Night

For our first live event since 2019, we will be implementing a few changes, some of which will likely be permanent and others which are hopefully temporary.

  • The event will NOT be catered this year. Plan to eat ahead of time or afterwards.
  • Certificates will NOT be distributed at Recognition Night. Certificates have already been distributed electronically. We plan to call names of honorees at Recognition Night but will NOT be calling students to the stage—OTHER THAN THE 13 INVITED SPEAKERS.
  • Likewise, the magazine will NOT be distributed in print at Recognition Night. The magazine WILL be distributed electronically as a PDF and WILL be available for download from our website. We would recommend for print copies that you use any of a number of online services, or even a place like Staples.
  • We WILL still have a keynote speaker–Sarah Albee–and we WILL have 13 student speakers from grades K-12 who will read their work from the stage.
  • There WILL be parking in the South Parking Garage. It will be a flat rate of $5. The North garage is closer but is impacted by construction. Seniors, young kids, etc can be dropped off in front of Jorgensen and then Mom or Dad can go park the car and walk over. Hopefully it doesn’t rain!
  • There is NO limit on the number of people who can attend. Jorgensen holds about 3000 and our largest pre-pandemic crowd was about 1600. Anyone can attend–siblings, teachers, grandparents, neighbors, the mailman. All are welcome.
  • Got questions? DO email us at cwp@uconn.edu. Do NOT call the office. We’re mostly working remotely.

Past Recognition Night Keynote Speakers

2022 Sarah Albee

2021 Veera Hiranandani (virtual)

2020: Veera Hiranandani (cancelled)

2019: Suzy Kline

2018: Matt de la Peña

2017: Gina Barreca

2016: Lynda Mullaly Hunt

2015: Heather Webb

2014: Rita Williams-Garcia

2013: Wally Lamb

2012: Elizabeth Thomas

2011: Katie Davis

2010: Barbara McClintock

2009: Mark Kimball Moulton

2008: Pegi Deitz Shea

2007: Karen Romano Young

2006: Suzy Kline

2005: Scot Haney

2004: Lucy Hurston